Seven Pictures of a Snail


These days

I have a glut of photos.

I take ten in a row

To capture one moment.

Whole sections of my photo library 

Repeated images,

Like the flip books

We made in grade school.

Bands of ocean

Of trees

Of sunsets

Blue 

Green 

Orange

As I scroll back through time.

I take photos with abandon

As I  hope for one good one

Playing with framing

And focus

Loving the luxury of digital storage.

Not so for my parents

Who had to dole out photos

Like desserts

Special

More sparing, more judicious in the click of the shutter.

Still

We would sometimes sit in the dark

Watching the slide shows 

of our most recent vacations

Projected life size on the wall

And suddenly

Slide after slide

Of seagulls

Of beach

Of sunsets.

In our search for the good shot

We manage to capture the joy

The importance of a moment.

Looking at fifteen photos of my sons in the snow

I know I was thinking

“This matters.”

It is our human impulse to use art 

to capture

Our love

Our gratitude 

Our grief.

When I look at my pictures 

I can sense that swell of heart

That accompanied the repetitions.

I may have seven pictures of a snail

But what I also have

Is my joy

Made visible.


Jennifer Sands @jensands