Raised on Wilder



 There is a place I frequent for my morning walks

That has a stretch of meadow 

Where the trail is thin

Hemmed in closely by 

Brambles 

Briars

Poison ivy

Queen Anne’s Lace

Milkweed

And countless others that I can’t identify (yet).

When I walk there

A little part of me pretends

I am Laura Ingalls Wilder

Out alone on the 

Vast prairie

Sniffing the air for the rains

Listening for the thud of buffalo hooves

Catching my skirts on prickers.

I feel lively

Bold

Delightfully isolated

Even though when I focus on it

I can hear traffic

Seeping into my quiet space.

I greet each bird that swoops low over the tangles.

My boots crush grasses with each step.

I walk my way back through the years and the pages

To the plains

Of my childhood.

The same little girl who longed to be on the banks of Plum Creek

Still seeks trails and stream crossings

Now as a grown-up.

I still want a sod house

A fiddle song on a snowy night

And quilts made from family history.

I know that my Wilder world is idealized

Leaves out the pain

The uncomfortable truths of living in that time and place.

I don’t pretend it is perfect,

A place I would rather be.

But I do pretend that my meadow path 

Continues out of sight

Over the rise of the prairie 

And down to the creek and the willows

Where I can sit,

Watching swallows dip

Watching fish rise to the surface at dusk

Hearing the crickets,

Deafening in their symphony

And where I spy my little house

A thin curl of smoke rising from it

At the other end of my

Meadow trail.





Jennifer Sands @jensands