Stonework


 At a museum once

I saw an exhibit

About exploration in the far north

The people built cairns

Which gave orientation 

to a blinding, white landscape

Provided a point for the eyes to land on 

And a place to leave messages for travelers 

To come


In the woods I search out old walls

Tumbled remnants of farm life

Boundary markers

Evidence of the difficult dance of agriculture 

In a place so rocky


Houses made of stone

Invite me in

I feel protected

Cradled

With walls made of earth

I can let down my guard



For all their unyielding nature

There is something in stones

That feels strong yet soft

Like motherhood 

Like sweetgrass

Like owl feathers


Stonework holds us

Gives us boundaries

Connects us to the ancient 

Moves us outside of time

Until we stand, shimmering

Alongside the eternal





Jennifer Sands @jensands