Heron Feet Human feet

 



On early summer days

My feet in ocean waters

Cramp

The cold sliding along nerve endings

So cold they burn hot.

The soles tightening

My toes curling

Until I must hop foot to foot

Bouncing to try to ease the pain.

It doesn’t work

And I am forced from the water

Feeling sheepish.

It is June, after all.

This is what we do- 

we go to the ocean in summer to swim

But I can’t make it past my shins

Weak human that I am.

And now, in November

The heron that stalks the stream by my house

Stands, hunched, 

crunched down on himself

Preserving warmth 

on this below freezing day

But still in the water,

His feet still immersed

As the cold river slides past him.

Sometimes it strikes me as so peculiar 

How humans see themselves

As better than the animals

More than the animals

When I feel so often 

Less

When I feel so often 

In awe of their abilities

Their specialties 

Their secret ways of knowing the world

Their senses more then senses

And bodies more than bodies

Soft flesh that I am

And weak.

I can write poetry with words

And so I do

Although I long to sing poetry like the birds

Swim poetry like the whales

Soar poetry like the butterflies.

But

Being human I must just

Notice

Observe 

Attend

To the superpowers of the world

And record them

In my words

As my own secret way of knowing.




Jennifer Sands @jensands