Double Vision


Double Vision


I forget

mostly

that trees are right side up and upside down

mirror images of themselves

branches and roots

that they take up as much space underfoot

as overhead


this miracle

like so many of the green variety

stays hidden

we are so tied

to what we can see with our own eyes

"I'll believe it when I see it"

a sad battle cry

that has limited our understanding

our imaginations stunted 

when it comes to the natural world


things we can't see

fill the universe

keep us guessing

keep us searching


at least for today

the mirror of the river

the double suns

the dark, sculptural branches reaching upwards

reminds me

of the dark, sculptural roots reaching down

and I pause

inhale in appreciation

before moving on

and forgetting all over again

the dew on my shoes the waters of the Lethe


but I excuse my forgetting

for how could I ever get anything done

if everywhere I looked

I could see the mysteries of nature

revealed and clear

I would be Medusa-struck still

awe-filled and rooted

to my own place

So I'm grateful

that nature reveals herself

in pieces

in moments

that I can bear



 

Jennifer Sands @jensands