Morning Jewels




Fall is a delicious shiver of cold on my neck

It's chilly ankles and fingertips

Hands retracted into sleeves

Sweatshirts and sweaters

Swaddling me in

Cozy warm


Fall is spangled spiderwebs

Full of dazzling dewdrops

Like diamonds burst from a velvet bag

And I wonder as I walk past

And gasp

How they form


Do the webs pluck the dew from the air

One drop at a time

Like an audience filling in their seats before the show starts?

Or is it all at once

At a magic moment

Each orb summoned from nothing

Appearing in an instant


I want to watch this spectacle

The making of a work of art

But I'm always too late


So I'll just have to enjoy

Watching the sun, caught

Glow in each drop

On each web

Across this field


It still feels like a victory

And I want to award all the spiders

Blue ribbons

For Best In Show.

 

-Jennifer Sands

9/9/22

Photo from my morning walk, where the fields were dotted with loveliness. Poem written that evening.

Jennifer Sands @jensands