Daddy

Early on in my relationship with Keegan, he took me on a hike of Mt. Jefferson. I was surprised to learn during the climb that we were climbing the 3rd highest peak in New England. After some internal debate over whether I would make it, we arrived triumphantly at the top. The way down found me in a joyous mood, and found us discussing futures and our own respective plans. Keegan told me this, “I am a great boyfriend, I’ll be an even better husband, and I’ll be the best father of all.” Until we had Kaleb, I had only seen Keegan with kids a few times, and while I had no doubts that he would indeed be a wonderful father, I had no idea that he really would live up to his promise. He amazes me each and every day with the care he shows for Kaleb, and the excitement with which he welcomes every eye blink and knee bend. He is 110% in love with our little boy, and makes sure that Kaleb knows that, too. He documents every day of his life, and records all the incredible moments for posterity, and our family and friends, on his live journal. I can’t say for sure that his skills as a father surpass those he possesses as a husband, because he is more than I could ever ask for in that role as well, but the fact remains that I am one lucky lady, and Kaleb is one lucky boy.
Our 30th birthdays are this year–Keegan’s just passed, actually. Keegan’s Aunt Carol asked me if I was nervous about this big year. How could I feel any sense of hesitancy when my life is where it is right now? I have an amazing husband, a beautiful baby, a job I love, family and friends who support me, and we are buying a fabulous house! The point of this entry was to record how wonderful Keegan is as a father. He is just so natural. It really does seem to be the role he has waited his whole life to play. I can’t wait to see how my little family evolves . I know that as parents Keegan and I can meet any challenge Kaleb throws at us. After all, we have already taken difficulty head-on, and we are stronger for it. This marriage, this family, are built to last.

Jennifer Sands @jensands